I’ve pretty much spent the last couple of weeks catching up on some of the things that had fallen by the wayside on the way to ESUG.

While I was away, Otto Behrens and Liliana Ivan from Finworks, made a number of contributions to the tools, including a port of TestRunner to the GemStone tools – very cool.

Once I’d cleared the decks a bit, I started to build the OmniBrowser-based Monticello tools, but before going very far, it turned out that we needed to update our Seaside code base to the latest Squeak version of Seaside2.8 (Seaside2.8a1-pmm.481). I ended up spending a couple of days doing the merge, as I fixed a handful of bugs in the tools along the way.

Janko Mivšek of EraNova was able to port the Squeak version of AIDA/Web to G.L.A.S.S. in just a couple of days. He used an Alpha version of the Seaside appliance and was fairly happy with the results. AIDA/Web is a Smalltalk-based web framework that has been available on the VW platform for a decade or so and has recently been ported to Squeak.

Before getting back to the tools for a final push (which should take a couple of weeks), I’ll be spending a little bit of time looking at performance and scaling. Based on very limited testing, Seaside2.8 appears to be about twice as fast as Seaside2.6 in GemStone. I’ve also been really pleased with the early results of muli-gem/multi-core testing – rates beyond 100 requests/second appear to be very realistic. Once the tools are in the bag, I’ll get real serious about characterizing GemStone/Seaside performance.

We’ve had a handful of folks use the Alpha version of G.L.A.S.S. and they’ve given us very useful feedback, but we’re really waiting for the OmniBrowser-based Monticello tools to be finished, before opening up the Beta of G.L.A.S.S. As I mentioned earlier, I’m expecting it to take a couple more weeks to finish off the Monticello tools, followed by a couple more weeks of Alpha, then we will be ready to Rumba.