Back in October, I said that I was going heads down on the tools and I really wasn’t kidding. During November I didn’t blog very much, but I did make some major progress.

First, I finished off the port of Magritte that was started by Lukas and Isaiah Perumalla.

I dipped my toe into the OmniBrowser-based Monticello tools, but before long it was obvious that I needed to migrate to the latest version of OmniBrowser. Firstly, we’d be able to make some of the very nice features, that have been recently added to OmniBrowser, available to GemStone developers. Secondly, we’d be able to use the current development image available from Damien Cassou as the basis for the GemStone/S tools. eliminating the need to build a specific Squeak image for GemStone.

While merging the latest OmniBrowser changes into the GemStone code-base, I got fed up with the inspector for stack contexts in the debugger. I’m pretty happy with the resulting context inspector, but then I’m probably a little biased. The new context inspector gives you an overview of the arguments, temps and receiver state that includes names and values, something like what you can get with Dolphin (but not quite that nice). The inspector is slaved to the debugger, so the contents are updated on each step or whenever you select a new context.

During Thanksgiving week I took some vacation and spent quality down time with my wife, family and doggies.

Based on feedback from a beta user, we finally decided to bite the bullet. With the next release of the GemStone (version 2.2.4), the GemStone/S compiler will support Squeak-style curly brace Array constructors, as well as method pragmas. At ESUG, Damien Cassou questioned why we didn’t just add the curly brace Array constructor to our compiler – he was right, it just took us a while to get around to it.

Well November began with OmniBrowser-based Monticello tools at the top of my list and it ended with them still at the top, but a fair amount of necessary work was done along the way.